
 1 

Kent County 
Register of Wills 

 
What do you do when someone 
passes away? 
 
A brief overview of what the law requires 
when someone passes away in Delaware.    
 
 

 
 
 
We strongly advise you to seek professional legal advice as 
this brochure is not intended as a substitute for consulting 
with an attorney. 
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Kent County Register of Wills 
Harold K. Brode 

Register of Wills 
Kent County Levy Court 

Register of Wills 
555 S. Bay Rd. 

Dover, DE 19901 
302-744-2330 

www.kentcountyde.gov 
registrar@kentcountyde.gov 

Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
Appointments must be made for the opening and closing 

of estates. 
 
What is a will? 
A will is a written set of legally enforceable orders directing 
the transfer of property to named beneficiaries effective 
upon the death of the maker. 

What is required to make a valid will? 

1. The maker must be at least 18 years of age and of 
sound and disposing mind and memory; 

2. The will must be in writing.  A will written entirely 
in the Testator’s handwriting (a holographic will) is 
valid in Delaware if the other requirements are met.   

3. The will must be signed by the maker or signed by a 
person writing the maker’s name in his/her/their 
presence and at the maker’s direction. 

4. The will must be witnessed by two or more credible 
adult witnesses who were present when the maker 

mailto:registrar@kentcountyde.gov
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signed the will.  (Yes, a beneficiary may be a 
witness). 

5. Notarization of all signatures is optional, but 
recommended. 

Filing the will after the maker dies 

After the maker dies, it is the legal duty of any person in 
possession of any document that might be a will to deliver it 
to the Register of Wills within ten (10) days after receiving 
notice of the maker’s death. 

Proving the will after the maker dies 

The Register of Wills determines a will’s validity.  A will is 
proven valid if its witnesses swear to its validity or it has a 
self-proving page attached with the signature of the two 
witnesses and a notary. If a will is not proven, it is rejected 
and has no force or effect. 

Probating an estate 

When does an estate have to be probated? 

An estate must be opened for probate if: 

1. The decedent had more than $30,000 in personal 
property held in his/her/their name alone. 

2. The decedent owned real estate in Delaware in 
his/her/their name alone (either solely held or as a 
tenant in common with others). 

When does an estate does not need to be probated?  

Jointly Held Property If the deceased person held real 
estate, bank accounts, motor vehicles and/or other property 
(stocks, bonds, etc.) in joint names with the right of 
survivorship, then the surviving joint tenant (co-owner) 
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receives that property upon the death of the deceased 
person.  

This will happen regardless of any contrary language in a 
will.  However, if a catastrophic accident happens resulting 
in the death of both joint owners, then the will or intestate 
succession laws determine the e disposition of the jointly 
held property. 

If real estate property is owned Jointly Held with the 
Rights of Survivorship (the deed is controlling) with a 
surviving joint tenant or spouse, the surviving joint tenant 
or spouse may clear title by filing an Affidavit of Jointly 
Held Property. 

Insurance Proceeds Life insurance proceeds are not part 
of an estate’s assets if paid to a named beneficiary who 
survives the insured.   

Small Estates if a decedent does not have solely owned 
real estate and has less than $30,000 in solely owned 
personal property (i.e. car, boat, tractor, bank account, etc.), 
then only the immediate next of kin may obtain 
possession of that property by executing a Small Estate 
Affidavit.  

If there is a will and the estate qualifies as a small estate, the 
person obtaining possession must comply with the terms of 
the will.  If there is no will, they must comply with 
Delaware’s intestate succession laws and, after payment of 
debts, distribute the assets accordingly. 
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Probate Procedures 

If an estate must be opened for probate, the personal 
representative (executor or administrator) must petition the 
Register of Wills for letters of authority to administer the 
estate.  If there is no will, the next of kin, in the following 
priority, have the right to petition for Letters of 
Administration: 

1. Spouse; 
2. Children; 
3. Parents; 
4. Siblings (of the whole and half-blood). 

 

Therefore, the spouse has priority if the spouse is living.  
However, the spouse may renounce (give up) his/her/their 
right to administer the estate.  If the next of kin are 
children, all of the children have an equal right to act.  
Usually, only one or two people administer an estate.  It 
may be appropriate for the children to agree who should act 
and the others renounce (give up).  They must file a 
notarized renunciation form with the Register of Wills 
before the estate can be opened and letters issued.  

If there are no next of kin having priority or none of those 
persons has applied to administer the estate within 60 days 
of the date of death, then the Register of Wills may appoint 
any interested person to be the administrator. 
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Duties of Executor or Administrator 
1. File a certified copy of the death certificate (this 

will be returned to you), along with an original will 
(this will not be returned to you), and the petition 
for authority to act;  

2. Schedule an appointment to open the estate and, at 
the time of the appointment, pay the requisite fees. 

3. Publish legal notice of the filing of the petition in 
a local newspaper as required by law (you will sign 
the notice at the appointment and we will submit it 
for publication).  This notice advises creditors of the 
death, of the estate opening, and that claims against 
the estate must be filed within eight (8) months of 
the date of death. 

4. Collect, inquire about, manage, and protect all 
probate assets. 

5. File an inventory of the assets within three (3) 
months after opening the estate, including all jointly 
held property. 

6. Set aside from the assets the spouses allowance, if 
requested, and the spouse’s elective share, as 
required by law. 

7. Pay the valid debts of the decedent; 
8. File and pay any Federal/State estate taxes 

within 9 months of date of death. 
9. File an accounting within one year of opening the 

estate. This is a report of the total probate assets 
received, income earned by the estate, and the debts 
paid. 

10. Close the estate by proving payments of debts and 
expenses, taking an oath that the estate was 
administered properly, and paying a closing fee of 
1.75% of the “net personal estate” assets.   
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General Information About Death Benefits 

 The Social Security Administration will pay a 
specific amount as a death benefit for covered 
individuals who were receiving benefits or are 
eligible survivors. This benefit is paid to the 
surviving spouse or to the minor children.  
 

 The Veterans Administration will also pay a benefit 
for a deceased veteran.  
 

 In addition, the decedent may have purchased 
funeral insurance, or may have been a member of an 
organization that provides such related benefits.  
 

 Although it is not the responsibility of the personal 
representative to see that these amounts are 
collected and paid, these matters should be 
investigated in order to discharge his or her duties 
effectively. 

Helpful Resources 

 Community Legal Aid Society, Inc. (CLASI) 
800 Walker Rd. 
Dover, DE 19904 
(302) 674-8500 

 Delaware State Bar Association 
(302)658‐5279  
405 N. King Street 
Suite 100 Wilmington, DE 19801  

 Delaware Volunteer Legal Services 
Legal Help Link  
https://www.dvls.org/  
(302)478‐8680  
P.O. Box 7306  
Wilmington, DE 19803 
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 Delaware Aging and Disability Resource Center  
Milford State Service Center 
18 N. Walnut St., First Floor 
Milford, DE 19963 
(800) 223-9074 
DelawareADRC@delaware.gov 

 Legal Services Corporation of Delaware, Inc. 
24A Hiawatha Lane 
Dover, DE 19904 
(302) 734-8820 

 Life Insurance Policy Search:  
American Council of Life Insurance Policy Search 
https://www.acli.com/pages/missing-policy-tips 
Medicaid 
DHSS Herman Holloway Campus, Lewis Building 
201901 N. DuPont Highway  
New Castle, DE 19720 
(800) 372‐2022 or (302)255‐9500 

 Medicare: Delaware Claims Information 
(800) 633‐4227 

 Social Security Survivors Benefit 
(877) 701‐2141  
Blue Hen Corporate Center Suite 3J 
655 S Bay Rd., Dover, DE 19904 

 Veterans Administration 
Gravestone Markers for Unmarked Graves 
(800) 827‐1000  
1601 Kirkwood Highway  
Wilmington, DE 19805 

 Vital Statistics  
Death Certificates 
302‐744-4549  
417 Federal St. 
Dover, DE 19901 

https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/main/maps/dsscmap/mlfdwlnt.htm
mailto:DelawareADRC@delaware.gov
http://www.lscd.com/
https://www.acli.com/pages/missing-policy-tips
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Glossary 
Administrator/Administratrix - Person appointed by the 
Register of Wills or the Court to gather and distribute assets 
of person who died without leaving a Will.  

Beneficiary - A person who receives property or other 
benefits.  

Codicil - A supplement or an addition to a Will. It may 
explain, modify, add to, subtract from, qualify, alter, restrain 
or revoke provisions in a Will. It must be executed with the 
same formalities as a Will. Decedent - A deceased person; 
the person who died.  

Elective Share - The surviving spouse's right to take a 
statutory share of the decedent's estate rather than under a 
Will or the intestate laws.  

Estate - Everything a person owned at the time of death.  

Executor/Executrix - Person appointed by the testator 
(maker) to carry out the directions and requests in his/her 
Will.  

Filing/Registration of Will - The filing of an original Will 
at the Register of Wills office after an individual’s death.  

Interested Persons - Includes heirs, devisees, children, 
spouse, creditors, beneficiaries, and any others having a 
property right in or claim against the estate of a decedent 
which may be affected by the particular proceeding.  

Intestate - A decedent who left no Will. Intestate 
Succession - The laws that stipulate who is to take the 
decedent's property if the decedent dies without a Will or if 
the decedent's Will does not dispose of all the property.  
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Issue - All of a person's lineal decedents of all generations 
(children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, etc.).  

Letters of Administration - The order issued by the 
Register of Wills empowering a party to gather and 
distribute the assets of an estate when the decedent died 
without a Will or did not name an executor in a Will or 
where the executor dies, renounces (gives up) his 
appointment or is not qualified.  

Letters Testamentary - The order issued by the Register 
of Wills to the executor named in the Will of the decedent 
to allow the executor to administer the estate. Life Estate - 
A right to use or occupy property for the life of the person 
named, which ends upon the death or surrender of the 
person named.  

Next of Kin - Those persons most closely related to a 
decedent by blood (i.e. children, parents, brothers and 
sisters, etc.).  

Personal Property - Any property which is not included in 
the definition of real property; tangible property such as: 
furniture, books, automobiles, jewelry and clothes; and, 
intangible property such as: money, stocks, bonds and/or 
bank accounts.  

Per Stirpes - This phrase refers to the method of dividing a 
share of an estate where a class or group of beneficiaries 
takes the share their ancestor would have taken if he/she 
survived the testator. For example, if person P dies leaving 
no spouse and is survived by two children A and B and the 
two children of his deceased child C (E and F) – then A and 
B would each receive 1/3 of the estate and E and F would 
equally share C’s 1/3, thereby each receiving 1/6.  
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Probate - 1) The entire system or process provided by law 
for transferring the property of a decedent to heirs; and, 2) 
The act or process of proving a Will to be valid before the 
Register of Wills.  

Real Property - Land and things attached to land; 
buildings, fences, walls, trees, growing crops, etc.  

Spouse Allowance - The surviving spouse’s right to 
request up to $7500 from the personal representative in 
addition to any other provisions for his/her benefit 
contained in a Will or by intestate law. A written request 
sent to the Register of Wills is required.  

Testator/Testatrix - Person who makes a Will (the 
maker).  

Witness - A person who is over 18, not incompetent, and 
witnesses the testator's original signature to a Will and who, 
in the presence of the testator, signs the Will attesting his 
presence at the time the testator signed, or acknowledged 
signing, the Will. A person is not disqualified from being a 
witness because he or she is a beneficiary of the testator. 
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