r CLAIM FOR REFUND OF FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 1

REALTY TRANSFER TAXES
BY FIRST TIME HOME BUYER
STATE OF DELAWARE FORM 5405

Division of Revenue

820 N. French Street
Wilmington,Delaware

19899-8763 DF24118019999

PART A - TAXPAYER INFORMATION

Rev. Code 0050

1. Purchaser Name: SSN:

2. Purchaser Name (If more than one): SSN:

3. Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

PART B - PROPERTY LOCATION

County

1. Address: New Castle
Kent
City: State: Zip Code: Sussex

2. Date of real estate purchase: | | 3. Date of execution of real estate contract: | |
PART C - COMPUTATION OF THE REFUND AMOUNT
1. Enter the amount from Line 4 of Form 5402 as originally filed.............cooiiiiiiii e $
2. Enter the lesser of Line 1 0r $400,000...........ccoieiiiiieeiieeeeeeeeeeeteeeceeeeeseeteeeteeeeteeateeaeeeesesaeteeeseeessesanseseseseseeaseseseesesenseeanes $
3. First time homMEDUYET rate FEAUCHION. .........eiiiiiee et e et e e et e e e te e e st e e e ssaeeeeasseeesseeeesnseneesnneeeennseeeanseeenn 0.5%
4. Multiply Line 2 by Line 3. This is the amount of the refund due. This amount cannot exceed $2,000............c..ccocoveereenne.. $| |

Pursuant to 30 Del. C. § 5401(2), to qualify as a first-time home buyer, you must meet one of the following definitions:

a. A natural person who has at no time held any direct legal interest in residential real estate, wherever located, and who intends to occupy

the property being conveyed as his or her principal residence within 90 days following the transaction.

b. Spouses purchasing as joint tenants or tenants by the entirety, when neither spouse has ever held any direct legal interest in residential
real estate, wherever located, and both of whom intend to occupy the property being conveyed as their principal residence within 90 days following the

transaction.

c. Individuals purchasing as joint tenants or cotenants, when none of the individuals has ever held any direct legal interest in residential real
estate, wherever located, and both of whom intend to occupy the property being conveyed as their principal residence within 90 days following the trans-

action.

By signing and submitting this form to the Delaware Division of Revenue, the undersigned hereby certifies, under penalties of perjury, that he/she/they meet
the definition of a “First Time Home Buyer” as set forth above, that they paid the full amount of the realty transfer tax due to the State of Delaware at the time of settlement
without regard to the reduced rate applicable to first time home buyers, and that they are entitled to the refund sought herein.

Taxpayer Signature Taxpayer Signature

Dated:

Sworn before me on this day of , 20

Notary

(Rev 7/2018)



INSTRUCTIONS
PART A - TAXPAYER INFORMATION

Line 1 Enter the name and social security number of the taxpayer seeking the refund. If multiple individuals were involved in the purchase of the prop-
erty, list all of their names and social security numbers in this section.

Line 3. Enter the mailing address for the refund.

PART B - PROPERTY LOCATION

Line 1. Enter the exact location of the real estate in connection with which you are seeking a refund of Realty Transfer Taxes paid.
Line 2. Enter the date on which you purchased the real estate listed in Line 1 above.

Line 3. Enter the date of execution of the contract pursuant to which you purchased the real estate listed in Line 1 above. Please note that if your
contract was executed before August 1, 2017, you do not qualify for a refund of Realty Transfer Tax paid.

PART C - COMPUTATION OF REFUND AMOUNT

Line 1. Enter the amount from Line 4 of Form 5402 as originally filed. This will be the greater of the consideration paid and the highest assessed value
(for local tax purposes) for the property.

Line 2. Pursuant to 30 Del. C. § 5402(c), the discounted rate for a first time home buyer can apply to no more than $400,000 of the purchase price of the
property.

Line 4. Multiply Line 2 by Line 3. This is the amount of the refund of Realty Transfer Taxes due. Because the reduced rate can apply to no more than
$400,000, the maximum refund available is $2,000.

Mail Refund Claims to:
Delaware Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street

P.O. Box 8763

Wilmington, Delaware
19899-8763

(Rev 7/2018)



